Barriers to entry
What Prop 212 kills
In two years Arizona built the most varied education marketplace in the country — roughly 5,600 providers, most of them small. Prop 212 puts an annual license in front of every one of them. Barriers to entry are how established institutions eliminate competitors without having to out-perform them.
What Arizona built
A market appeared, and most of it is small
Arizona and Florida were the only two states to go fully universal. What followed in Arizona was not simply more private-school tuition — it was an unbundling of school itself into tutors, co-ops, microschools, curriculum shops, and therapists. That supply did not exist in 2021.
~5,600
providers in the ESA marketplace by 2023-24
Up from under 3,000 before the program went universal. Roughly 2,650 of them are not schools at all — they are tutors, therapists, curriculum providers, and enrichment programs.
+33%
growth in curriculum and service providers
The number of providers of curricula and services in the universal program grew by one-third between its first and second year. Curriculum providers alone went from 113 to 164.
661
“schools” receiving ESA funds in 2023-24
More than the total number of private schools in Arizona — because the category now includes microschools, online schools, homeschool co-ops, preschools, and postsecondary institutions. At least 22 were identified as microschools and 22 as homeschool co-ops.
$16M → $27M
spending on tutoring and teaching services
Between 2023-24 and 2024-25, tutoring grew to about 14 percent of all ESA spending. Tutors are the fastest-growing segment of the market and the segment Prop 212 regulates most aggressively.
An Arizona company, for the record
Prenda was founded in Arizona in 2018 and now supports over a thousand microschool founders educating more than 10,000 children across the country. The microschool sector Arizona helped invent is the sector this measure would license.
What Prop 212 puts in front of it
An annual license to exist
Beginning July 1, 2027, every participating provider enters a registration regime. None of this exists today. The fee amounts are not specified in the measure.
- 01Annual registration and a fee for every campus a school operates.
- 02Annual registration and a fee for every location a tutoring business operates.
- 03Annual individual registration, a fee, and a fingerprint clearance card for every solo tutor.
- 04Accreditation, specified testing, or disability-only enrollment as a condition of participating as a school.
- 05Public-school employment law applied to all participating providers, including investigation and discipline for “immoral or unprofessional conduct.”
- 06All registration forms and supporting documents become public records.
- 07No reimbursement for any payment made to a provider that is not currently registered.
The math on the accreditation clause
78% of microschools are not accredited
The National Microschooling Center surveyed 800 microschools across all fifty states. Only 22 percent are accredited; 78 percent are not. The reason is structural rather than a matter of quality: most state-approved accrediting bodies designed their processes for large, traditional schools. A typical accreditation runs about six months at the fast end, one national accreditor advertises $3,195 before maintenance visits, and reporting on the sector has put the full cost as high as $15,000 once financial audits, background checks, and building inspections are counted. The median microschool has 22 students.
Arizona is currently one of the permissive states. Prop 212 ends that.
Today a microschool can participate in Arizona's program without being accredited. Texas and Georgia require accreditation, and the effect there is exactly what you would expect — small, unconventional providers are excluded. Prop 212 moves Arizona toward that column. A participating school must be accredited, implement specified testing, or serve only children with disabilities.
Read that requirement carefully, because it is not a ban
The unaccredited microschool has an out: it can implement the specified testing instead. That is the honest version of this argument, and it is worse than a ban rather than better. The price of staying in the program is adopting the standardized-measurement regime that many of these schools were founded to get away from — and that many of these families left. The statute does not close the alternative. It requires the alternative to look more like the thing it was an alternative to.
The quiet one
It makes families afraid to pick the small provider
Prop 212 voids reimbursement for any payment made to a provider whose registration is not current. Most families pay first and file later. So the rule does not merely burden the small provider — it transfers the small provider's paperwork risk onto the parent, and a rational parent responds by choosing the large institution that is obviously, visibly compliant.
That is how you shrink a market without denying a single application. You do not have to reject the microschool. You only have to make choosing it feel like a gamble with your own money.
Ask who this leaves standing
A large accredited school has an office staff, a compliance budget, and a lawyer. It absorbs annual per-campus fees, a testing mandate, an employment-law regime, and a public-records obligation without noticing. A microschool with 22 students and a founder doing her own paperwork at night does not. Neither does a woman tutoring four children in her living room, who under this measure registers annually, pays a fee, holds a fingerprint card, submits a file that becomes public, and absorbs the risk that a missed renewal costs her families their reimbursement.
Nothing in Prop 212 requires the surviving providers to be better. It requires them to be bigger.
The limits of this argument
- The measure does not specify the registration fee amounts. A small fee is a nuisance; a large one is a wall. Nobody knows which this is yet.
- No one on either side has published a compliance-cost estimate for Arizona providers. We would link it if it existed.
- The accreditation clause is a disjunction, not a bar. Some microschools are accredited already, and others will choose the testing route and stay.
- Accreditation is getting cheaper. A microschool-specific pathway from the Middle States Association now costs $1,200 with a decision at about six months, and fifteen schools used it in a single month in 2025.
- The National Microschooling Center's survey is large but not necessarily representative of the sector, a caveat its own friendly reviewers at EdChoice make.
- Hybrid providers may fall under the school track or the tutoring track depending on how they operate, and the measure does not resolve that cleanly. Which stack applies to a given microschool is genuinely unclear.
What we can say without stretching: the structure predictably favors incumbents, and consolidation is the normal result of rules written this way. That is a prediction about market structure, and we are labeling it as one.
Do the one thing that matters
Vote NO on 212
What it does
All ten provisions, quoted from the state's own analysis.
Who it hurts
The 100,000 kids in the program and the 20,300 cut off first.
The $150,000 trap
A cliff that punishes big families and tightens every year.
The history
How authoritarian governments took control of schooling.
Analysis
Longer pieces on what this measure would actually do.
Receipts
Every source behind every number on this site.
